Road Trip Wednesday #164

YA Highway Road Trip Wednesday: 

Imagine you get to open your own bookstore. What would it look like? What kinds of books would you sell?

Wow, what a question! I’m going into this with the assumption that money is no object, the location is prime, and the market is infinite. Because my ideal bookstore isn’t just a hop-in-and-out sort of a place that survives on the target market doing what it’s supposed to do. My ideal is more of a tourist destination.

First, you need an old home. Tudor style is a plus, with lots of old wood and at least three staircases:

(from here)

The house inspiration came from a Supernatural episode featuring this beauty:

(Source)

The inset is what it looked like in the Season 2, Episode 11 “Playthings”. I wish I could find photos of the inside.

But here’s what I imagine…

Once you enter,

(Source)

You’ll have to pick up a map and then feel free to wander the halls to any number of rooms, themed according to genre. (Unfortunately, most of the pictures I could find showed old books…but imagine new releases included, also)

(Source)

(Source)

(Source)

(Source)

The books sold would be new and used, and people could bring old books to exchange.

After a day exploring, you could visit the restaurant/coffee shop, and we could sit down for coffee, surrounded by books…

(Source)

I would want the house as much a place to explore as the books…

(Source)

A place to spend the day relaxing and exploring and reading and loving books

(Source)

All books would be welcome. The number of rooms means you could host signings and Austen parties and Inklings and whatnot. I could have my own private living space attached to the house, which means the bookstore is my library.

I’d want it all to be more than just a place to buy a good book, but a place to enjoy one, as well. A place to find new treasures, regardless of the packaging.

Not just a book store, but a book house.

What does your bookstore look like?

27 comments on “Road Trip Wednesday #164

  1. Corrie says:

    All of these pictures make me want to crawl inside my computer screen. I know they’re basically traditional library/bookstore feeling pictures, but really, what else is like this in the world? Nothing!

  2. Colin says:

    This is a great concept, Rae. One thing any brick-and-mortar bookstore has to consider these days is what service(s) it can offer that people can’t get at Amazon. I think you’re on to something with this idea of the bookstore being more than just a bookstore, but a “book house,” where the environment is almost as much of an attraction as the books it contains.

  3. Um. I didn’t realize I needed a place like this to exist until you just described it. What a fantastic idea—especially love the thought of giving each genre a room, almost like a living museum. Geez. Let us know if you somehow get to make this happen, ok??

    • Rae says:

      I wish I could find pictures of rooms decorated the way I’d like. And I still love the small bookstores, but the idea of a huge house is really getting to me!

  4. I want to go to there! What a great concept! All those book ladders…ever since Beauty and the Beast came out I’ve wanted a library with a ladder.

  5. Jaime says:

    And you’ve pretty much just described heaven for me. 🙂 I love the idea of an old Tudor house with gorgeous wood and grand staircases. Of course, with books shoved into almost every nook and cranny. I like how you compare it to a tourist destination. I’d be there in a heartbeat (and I’d probably have to be forcibly removed). 🙂

  6. Rachael says:

    That would be gorgeous! I’d be afraid to walk in because I’d probably never want to leave.

  7. This looks so awesome, I would love to just curl up on one of those couches and get lost in a good book! Such a cool idea! 🙂

  8. Viklit says:

    Oooh I love the feel of this and love the supernatural ref! 🙂 I’d visit!

  9. Melanie says:

    Wow, that can’t be a bookstore, that has to be my HOME. Except I need a bedroom somewhere. 🙂

  10. Miss Cole says:

    Just so you know, I’d be moving in.

  11. Alex says:

    That’s such an original and pretty nifty idea! I love it! You’d have the best library going! 🙂 And you get extra points for liking Supernatural. It’s the rules.

    xo

    • Rae says:

      😀 Yay for extra points! The episode gave me creeps regarding that house, but it kind of made me want to visit, too…it’d be beautiful on a sunny day!

  12. I love the idea of the bookstore being a cozy, beautiful house. I want to move in with you! I love old Tudor style homes. So gorgeous.

    • Rae says:

      I’ve visited a few old homes like this, and they somehow manage to seem cozy and regal at the same time…? Not a lot of places can manage that!

  13. Verry nice post….ii`d love to have one of these library

Leave a Reply

