Road Trip Wednesday #165

This week’s RTW: “Good for a laugh: who is your favorite comedian or funny book and/or movie?”

Comedy…mmm…when I think funny, I usually think family. Growing up in a large family definitely taught me about comedy. The siblings would heartlessly slaughter a poorly-told joke, and it was a feat to get the whole table to roar. You had to learn how to make people laugh. It’s half the reason holidays are such a treat; with the family all together, we can pack enough in-jokes during Christmas to last the rest of the year.

But, in lieu of inviting you to a family meal, I guess I have to pick a favorite? Here are a few…

 

Cartoons

(source)

Okay, so this one is a little obscure. As much as I love some of the current-running strips, I had to include this European holdover from my dad’s childhood. For Latin and English puns, check out these Asterix/Obelix comics – the comedy is heavily language-based, and the humor has survived the translation from the original French.

Runners-up: Johnny Hart’s cavemen in B.C., and the indomitable Calvin and Hobbes

 

Books

(source)

My mom read this book to us kids when we were younger, and the portrayal of a large family and the relating sibling/parent dynamic is accurately hilarious and touching at the same time.

Runner-up: Any of Phil Callaway’s books.

 

Movies

(source)

His Girl Friday

I loved this movie. So. Much. It features the epitome of rapid-fire dialogue, encouraging multiple viewings to catch it all.

Runner-up: Princess Bride. The script of this movie can be plagiarized to fit nearly every life scenario.

 

Comedians

This one is also a little obscure. I can credit my grandparents for my introduction to Victor Borge; I would go over to their house and we’d watch their VHS tapes from the original public tv showings. These below are two of my favorite routines, although check out his piano-based comedy for a seamless combination of talent and humor.

Runners-up: Mark Lowry, Tim Hawkins, and Laurel & Hardy

 

So…who can get you into a good mood?

6 comments on “Road Trip Wednesday #165

  1. Colin says:

    My older brother and I used to love ASTERIX! He had quite a collection of the books. Getafix the druid… lol… Great stuff. And Victor Borge was a genius!! Wow–some excellent choices here. Well, at least *i* think these are great choices. 🙂

    • Rae says:

      Yay! I’m so glad to find someone else who knows Asterix! The comedy is so creative–the names are some of my favorite. Crismus Bonus the centurion, Ekonomikrisis the merchant…still funny the second time around!

  2. Rebekah says:

    I love HIS GIRL FRIDAY. The chemistry and dialog are hard to beat.

    • Rae says:

      I think the newspapermen doing their play-by-plays are my favorite–their sarcasm regarding the mayor, the liberal fabrication of the facts…and all delivered with such perfect timing. Just talking about it makes me want to see it again.

  3. I love the phonetic punctuation routine–I heard it on the radio when I was a kid and loved it, although you do lose some of his clowning if you can’t see him.

Leave a Reply

