Tell The Truth Tuesday

Full of randomness today.  Here’s the top 5.

1. It’s 80 degrees outside. I don’t know whether to be excited or confused because apparently it’s summer already? What happened to spring?!

2. Only two weeks of classes left. Whew. I can make it. Although it’d be helpful if my professors weren’t so trigger-happy with their quizzes and homework. I know I’m going to receive gargantuan finals in all my classes next week, so could you maybe lay off with the assignments this week? Give me a little time to prep? Please?

3. I drove back to my hometown (again) this weekend. I love everything about my weekends at home, although it’s still hard to have everyone ask when I’m coming back, as if that is still an option. I’m not sure if they truly believe that my move was on a whim or consider it a possibility that I’ll break my work and school commitments here to return.

4. I’ve started trying to write short stories (again). I’ve been on sort of a writing break for a lot of this semester, and I miss it terribly. So of course I’m writing again, with classes and end-of-the-school-year commitments breathing down my neck. Brilliant me.

5. Maybe it’s just the weather (full moon?), but drivers were crazy this weekend. Phone numbers on paper plates and shirtless college guys hanging out of their jeeps to leer on Interstate, gangsters in souped-up Cadillacs trying to chat at the stoplights (no, I don’t roll my window down on command), and prepsters trying to drag race in front of the mall (Okay, so it was the prime racing spot in the city and famous for what happens after midnight, but even still: I drive a 14 yr old wagon with the engine power of a sewing machine. Do I look like I’m interested?!).

What’s up in your life?

2 comments on “Tell The Truth Tuesday

  1. Colin says:

    I need to write more short stories. I hate it when I read of short story competitions, and I don’t have anything remotely worthy of entering. I ought to have at least three or four I can submit. And they’re a nice diversion when you need a break from the WIP.

    I hope the next couple of weeks of classes pass quickly for you, Rae! 🙂

    • Rae says:

      I’ve never satisfactorily completed a short story, and I really want to. I like the idea of doing the outline/draft/redraft/edit/polish on a smaller scale. Not only do I need to know how to condense a story, I also need practice at rewriting, and this is a good way to do it.
      (In between finals and all that. 😛 Thanks for the encouragement!)

Leave a Reply

