Road Trip Wednesday: The One That Got Away


AKA: the one that I told myself I’d never admit to NOT reading.

This week, YA Highway has posted a question that makes me cringe and want to hide in a corner.

This Week’s Topic: What book is your ‘one that got away?’ (What book have you always been dying to read but still haven’t yet?)

 

There are hundreds of books that I would love to read, many more that I am closer to reading…and those that I just haven’t.

*deep breath*

You know that book series that was wildly successful and catapulted a British author to worldwide fame? The one that was made into the highest-grossing movie series of all time? The one that adults and kids and everyone in between has read and adored and recommended?

I could blame it on a lot of things, mostly the fact that I nerdy enough in high school to read the classics in my spare time. It was always too far down the list; why read that series when I hadn’t gotten through all of Jane Austen’s books first? And why start now when Les Miserables was due for a re-read? And my friends and I didn’t share books, so I didn’t have anyone on my case to read it.

And then I graduated and got scared away by the big-looking books that promised to steal far more time than I had available.  And then I always said I need to start at the beginning and yet it never happened. And now, I’ve held off watching the movies because I want to read the books first, but there’s always something in the way.

Guys, don’t kill me. But if you’re thinking of one of your most favorite series ever, you’re probably right.

I’ve never read Harry Potter.

*hides*

4 comments on “Road Trip Wednesday: The One That Got Away

  1. Wow. Just Wow. READ THEM.
    =)

  2. Amy says:

    It’s probably obvious and I’m sure you’ve heard it before, but you’re truly missing out. You must read them. And you must see the movies, afterward. I can honestly say that was the series that first interested me in the entire YA genre and kept me coming back. I did find your response refreshing to read, though! Not too many people on the YA Highway that haven’t read HP! Thanks for sharing. (And don’t feel too bad about it. I have yet to read the “Millenium” series by Stieg Larsson, to the dismay of my fellow mystery fans.)

    Muffins and Metaphors

  3. Colin says:

    Just one question, Rae: what are you waiting for? 🙂

    If you read Jane Austen for fun, you’ll finish the first Harry Potter book in a day. Then you can decide if you want to continue. Even if it’s to be able to join in conversations with fellow writers, you should at least read book one.

    BTW, this was a brave admission for a RTW. Kudos to you. 😀

  4. I feel better about my Graceling confession now 🙂

    But seriously, I know the books LOOK big, but I read most of them in less than a day. They won’t take as long as you think they will!

    Also, I have a friend who’s just now reading them for the first time. Better late than never 🙂

Leave a Reply

