What’s Up Wednesday

What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly meme geared toward readers and writers, allowing us to touch base with blog friends and let them know what’s up. It’s hosted by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk, and after a few weeks of this popping up on the various blogs I follow on Feedly…I’m loving the idea.

What I’m Reading

I kept seeing Cinder and Scarlet show up on various blogs, including multiple recommendations from Colin. So I took the plunge and read Cinder the night after I turned in my finals. Yes, I read the entire thing in one evening. With the addictiveness of Cinder, I was almost afraid to start Scarlet since I knew I couldn’t finish it before other commitments came due. But I caved and read the first three chapters. Setting it aside and leaving for the weekend was ridiculously difficult, and I am beyond excited to finish it.

What I’m Writing

I was on an unavoidable writing break for most of this semester, and now I’m finally able to get back to writing. But I’m in something of a dilemma; I have a cast of characters that I’m in love with, but I can’t get some plot bugs out, and it’s really stalling me. I was going to set that project aside and head into a total rewrite of an older project, but I can’t seem to let go of that first shaky plot.  The two projects are totally different genres/time periods, and while I’m equally in love with both, I need to get into either one or the other.

What Else I’ve Been Up To

I spent the weekend working at a children’s conference,  and tonight begins my second stint as Wednesday-night-summer-program coordinator for our church. This weekend I have a grad party, birthday party, and family reunion…in different states. I need to learn to drive a suburban backwards with an attached trailer, since this skill is going to be required for my drive out to my hometown on Saturday. I’m also taking my dad to see Star Trek on Thursday, and on Memorial Day I’m driving my younger siblings up to see my grandpa, who is successfully recovering from open heart surgery. Yeah, not much going on.

What Inspires Me Right Now

Does anyone else love commercial music? One of Google’s commercials featured The Temper Trap’s song “Sweet Disposition”, and I promptly fell in love with the whole album. In between the Midwest storms that keep knocking out our internet, I’ve also been enjoying Anthem Lights’ covers of popular songs–who knew that “As Long As You Love Me” could sound so good?

What’s up on your Wednesday?

19 comments on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Jaime Morrow says:

    I’m such a big fan of CINDER and SCARLET, so I can understand how difficult it would be to set them aside once you’ve started. Yikes! The nice is that you don’t have to wait for CINDER’s sequel like those of us who read it way back. That’s always nice! I hear you on the plot bugs thing. I’m totally in the same boat in my revisions and it’s making my other stories look tempting. Here’s to ironing out story kinks! 🙂

    • Rae says:

      I tend to read book series later, so I’m not used to waiting for a sequel (Allegiant is killing me right now!). I hope Scarlet doesn’t end on a cliffhanger… o.0
      I need to figure out what to do while waiting for the lightbulb moments. I feel like I need to keep writing, but I despise the clumsy writing that comes while working my way back into line with everything. Good luck on your story!

  2. Colin says:

    Thanks for the shout-out–and yes, the Lunar Chronicles series is *that* addictive/compelling. I was up to the wee small hours finishing SCARLET. I literally could not stop myself reading the last 100 pages. I *had* to know what happened! 🙂 I don’t know that this series has received as much attention as it deserves, but if I was Marissa Meyer, I’d be extremely happy with the way these books have turned out. They are so well written, and such a pleasure to read.

    Perhaps taking some time out to work on the other story might help you with the “shaky plot” story? Things often work that way–working on a completely different project can help your brain see the problems in a new light.

    Sounds like you have a busy week, Rae. I hope you have fun and safe travels. 🙂

    • Rae says:

      I cannot wait to finish Scarlet. I’m really looking forward to seeing how the fairy tale shows up in this one. And at first I was almost disappointed to be with characters other than Cinder, but I’m only a few chapters in and I already love Scarlet. And you’re welcome for the shout-out–I’ve enjoyed reading your reviews, and your enthusiasm for the books is contagious!

      My problem is when I’m stalled with one story, it’s actually really difficult for me to pick up another. The perfectionist side of me has trouble letting something go, even if it’s only temporary. 😛

  3. Books, Tea & Me says:

    I’ve seen so many things regarding Cinder and Scarlet, I feel like I need to give them a try. It looks like they’d be great books. Also, props to liking The Temper Trap! 🙂

    • Rae says:

      Thanks for stopping by! And yes, you need to read Cinder and Scarlet. 🙂 I’m so on board with the must-read-the-Lunar-Chronicles group. Definitely hooked!
      I’m not sure if I’m behind on the times in discovering The Temper Trap, but they’re now a new favorite. 🙂

  4. Ooh, Cinder and Scarlet sound fantastic. Hope you can work out those writing bugs… it can be hard to pick one project to focus on. Usually one is calling to me a little more than the other. When that’s the case I really enjoy working on that one more.

  5. Alison Miller says:

    Oh, wow! Sounds like you have a lot going on – good luck with your travels this weekend. And yay for characters you love! But I hear you on the plot stalling thing. Sometimes I just have to put the ms down for a while and let the subconscious go to work. Usually helps.

  6. Miss Cole says:

    Yes, I am always searching for music on TV ads! There’s a great Sony one here right now with a brilliant version of a David Bowie song and I WANTS IT PRECIOUS!!!!

  7. Erin L. Funk says:

    I’ve had a copy of SCARLET kicking around my house for way too long now. I need to just read it already! A had a bunch of library books on hold and unfortunately they ended up taking priority. Can’t wait to get to it, because I loved CINDER. I hope you figure out your writing dilemma. Plot bugs are the worst. I know I don’t work well on two projects at a time (something I wish I could remedy), so I can understand how you’d have trouble deciding which project to focus on.

    Also, that’s wonderful to hear your grandpa is recovering well from his surgery. 🙂

    • Rae says:

      Library books help me so much; I’m “forced” into reading more books than if I actually owned them.
      I don’t think it’s a bad thing to only be able to focus on one project at a time, though. It definitely helps to be engrossed when a shiny new idea pops up, because I don’t get distracted as easily.
      And thanks for the comment…my grandpa is 84, so the surgery was sort of a big deal. But he’s beating the odds, per his style. 🙂

  8. Oh, I love CINDER and SCARLET! Such great twisty-turny plots without ever sacrificing character! And Marissa is really sweet, too; we’ve done several conferences together.

    Good luck with your busy weekend! My husband and I saw STAR TREK last weekend and it was awesome!

  9. Rae says:

    Thanks for the comment, Jessica! I always like hearing about authors in real life; that’s neat that you got to meet her!
    I’ve been looking forward to seeing Star Trek for a while…I can’t wait!

  10. Commercial music is so good!! There’s this one song that keeps playing on Spotify and I always hear it and think, whoa, I love that, what is it? and it’s an ad.

    Good luck with the busy weekend, and best wishes to your grandfather!

    • Rae says:

      The only problem is if I associate that song with the commercial, you know? Like: Alex Clare and Internet Explorer. The song is fantastic; I don’t want to think about a web browser! 🙂

  11. Science fiction wasn’t something I read. And then I read Cinder. Hopefully you’ll have time to finish Scarlet soon!

Leave a Reply

