What’s Up Wednesday: Rainy Day Edition

 

(check out the links to learn more about What’s Up Wednesday or Ready. Set. Write!)

This post is brought to you by Midwest Thunderstorms, wreaking havoc and stealing electricity since…forever. (Seriously, though, it’s been raining since Sunday. I love the rain, but the only things these cloudy days have brought are mosquitoes and humidity, which I do NOT love. On the plus side, electricity outages got me a shortened work day on Monday.)

WHAT I’M READING

I finished The Lucy Variations, and reviewed it last Friday. Contemporary isn’t half bad! But now I have three fantasy picks that came in at the library and YAY! First one up is Defiance, by C.J. Redwine, which I have refused to read any reviews on so I can remain unspoiled. I’m going to try not to speed-read through this one, even though I have The Girl Of Fire And Thorns waiting for me when I finish. *happy dance* I’ll give my daily weather one plus: reading is so much better during a thunderstorm.

WHAT I’M WRITING

I’m pretty sure this is the part where I say I’ve reached my goals…if I did. Does partially count? Last week I wanted to work on some character and worldbuilding, while writing my first chapter through to completion. The former two happened, and I had a crazy good time with it.  The latter…not so much.  I wrote around 1K (in one evening, natch), but that was the only time I actually was able to sit down and write.

So, I’m going to try to do word-count goals this week. I’ve never had much success with these, but part of that is because I’m stubbornly unreasonable when setting word-count goals, and because I’m a perfectionist and have let word-counts mess with my head at times. But I’ve been trying to work into that over the last two weeks, and I’d like to give it a go. This is a first draft, I’m allowed to be terrible, and my goals don’t have to be lofty.

500 words in five days. 2,500 for the week. That’s the goal. *pats self* Now shut up and write.

WHAT INSPIRES ME RIGHT NOW

Family. Friendship. Photography.

Family. My family members are some of the most supportive and loving people…I couldn’t ask to be surrounded by better leaders, mentors, friends, and buddies.

Friendship. I’m continually amazed by the writing community and the way they enthuse and encourage everyone involved in this [occasionally terrifying] thing called writing.

Photography. Okay, so I’m biased because I know some of the people and places involved in some of these shoots…but for the most part, it’s simply the gorgeousness of Wyn Wiley’s photography that sucks me in. So much emotion in a single photo.

WHAT ELSE I’VE BEEN UP TO

Well, sister’s surprise grad party was a roaring success. She had NO CLUE, which was unbelievable and a total answer to prayer. But possibly the biggest surprise was an old neighbor who came, a lady who used to hate us, warmed up to us after six years of Christmas carols and cookies, and became a hesitant friend shortly before we moved.  We hadn’t seen her since we moved nearly five years ago. It was a wonderful time, culminating in a water fight and group pictures.

On Saturday I have my first training session (8 hours!) to get my gun permit. I’m interested to see what it’s like to shoot a pistol vs. what I’ve read. I could pretend that this is author research…but the truth is, where I [have] live[d], you learn how to use a gun properly, you don’t dismiss the hurt that people have caused with guns, and you don’t step on anybody’s toes about it. I’ll admit that I’m excited to learn, but I am glad to be learning from a trained professional with the proper equipment, rather than taking potshots with one of my neighbors. o.0

What Up on your Wednesday? Check out Jaime’s blog for more links!

40 comments on “What’s Up Wednesday: Rainy Day Edition

  1. Colin says:

    I have THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS on my TBR. It’s been on there a while, so I’m not quite sure why it’s there. I guess the premise must be good. If you get to it before I do (which is very likely at the moment), I look forward to reading your (hopefully spoiler-free) thoughts, Rae! 🙂

    I’ve considered learning how to handle a firearm, but I run into one of my personality quirks. I’m the vegetarian who has no objection to animals being killed for food and clothing. And I’m also the pacifist who has no objection to war and the use of force (including firearms) when necessary. In other words, I don’t mind people eating meat, just don’t ask me to. And I don’t mind people owning guns and using them to hunt, and defend their lives, property, and loved ones, but I couldn’t imagine using one myself–actually shooting someone or something. Which makes me think I’d probably be the last person you’d want to give a gun to!

    All the best with your goals this week, Rae! 🙂

    • Rae says:

      Library deadlines are the best thing for my TBR list. 😀 I’ve gotten three times as many books read this summer simply because I’m too stingy to pay overdue fines and too nitpicky to return books unread. And I’m hoping to get better about writing book reviews…I babble about them to other people enough in real life, I might as well write it down. 😀
      I appreciate your perspective…a lot of people are far less antagonistic with their views than you are. 🙂 I’m used to being around people who carry (some of my best friends are in law enforcement), but I’m not sure that I’m the sort who would carry one myself. I do know that I want to learn, and we’ll see where that takes me. 🙂

  2. Elodie says:

    Partially definitely counts 😀 😀 😀 Good luck with your goals for this week! And how did you manage to keep the surprise for your sister? She must have been ecstatic 😀

    • Rae says:

      Somehow we managed to set up a secret fb invite, have a photoshoot, mail invitations, and spread the word at the camp my sister was at for the past two weeks…all without her knowing. o.0 All I can say is that her friends are REALLY good at keeping secrets.

  3. Miss Cole says:

    Partially absolutely counts!

    Thanks for sharing that photography link. So beautiful!

    Glad to hear your sister’s party went well too. Yay!

    Wow, a gun permit. Sounds intense! I’ve only used guns once in my life when I was in the US and it really made me appreciate the weapons and the responsibility you have when using one. It’s pretty much illegal to have them here in the UK, so it was definitely an experience I’ll always remember (and hope to have again someday!).

    • Rae says:

      Thanks, Miss Cole! Aren’t those pictures beautiful? Makes me miss that area…some of those spots are my old stomping grounds.
      And I’m looking forward to the training experience, although I was surprised at how hard it was to find the sort of class I wanted. Especially one that didn’t require you to own a firearm beforehand. They’re expensive! 😛

  4. Alexa says:

    Partially definitely counts! Good Luck this week with the word count. I’ve been doing 500 words a day too and it’s been going really well.

    I love surprise parties (for other people, hate them for me) I’m glad your managed to keep your sister in the dark and she had a fantastic time.

    • Rae says:

      This is my first week doing word counts…thanks for the encouragement!
      And yeah, I hate surprise parties for me, too. But, it was the perfect way to do it for my sister, and I was thrilled with how it turned out. 🙂

  5. Our goals are pretty similar: 5 days, 500 words per day! Good luck!

    I LOVED The Girl of Fire and Thorns. So, so much! I hope you enjoy it!

    Oooh, a gun permit? I totally want to get one. Mainly because of Divergent and Tris and Four… And because they are hot. 🙂 I think I might be able to convince myself to do it for “research” purposes. Good idea! I’ll have to think on that! 🙂

    • Rae says:

      Lol, I realized that after I commented on your post. Great minds think alike! 🙂
      And I won’t pretend that Divergent had nothing to do with my decision… 😉 Actually, I’ve wanted to do it for years, but I was saving up and waiting until my state laws quit changing so I knew which classes I had to take. 😛

      • Great minds DO think alike! Writing goals, Supernatural, Divergent… We’ve got a lot in common, my friend. I even sometimes go by Rae (or Rae Rae for little kids who can’t quite say Rachel) and my personal email has that nickname in it. Weird… 🙂

      • Rae says:

        No way…you go by Rae Rae? Someone at work called me that once as a joke, and now even my family calls me that. o.0

  6. kiperoo says:

    Yay for completed goals–partially or not! It’s kind of hard to know in advance how much effort something will take, so it makes total sense to me to get through part of what you set out to do last week. But here’s a big cheer for your word count goals for the coming week!

    Good luck with your gun training. I actually used to be in the army (!) so I’ve shot various weapons, but I found pistols to be especially difficult to control vs. rifles. I never owned (or wanted to own) a gun, but I do think it’s a good skill to learn, so bravo for getting proper training.

    • Rae says:

      Thanks so much for the encouragement. I didn’t think of the goals that way, but it makes me feel better about only partially completing them. 🙂
      Wow, you were in the army? I’ve never heard that re: pistols vs. rifles. I’m looking forward to learning everything about it, and not just the “point and shoot” part. 🙂

  7. Samantha says:

    I really want to read The Girl of Fire and Thorns – I look forward to seeing what you thought of it!
    Woohoo for partial goals, I seem to be ‘almost but not quite’ with all my writing goals! I think i’m just not trying hard enough!
    Good luck with the gun training! I’ve never shot a gun before, but we don’t have a lot of guns in NZ, I feel like i’d freak out holding one!

    • Rae says:

      I’m never sure if I’m not trying hard enough or my goals are unrealistic. They’ve definitely been changing, esp during these first couple weeks. I hope your writing goes well!
      And I’ve never shot anything more than a BB gun…so I have no idea if I’ll freak out. I hope not! 🙂

  8. Erin L. Funk says:

    I have DEFIANCE by C.J. Redwine sitting on my bedside table waiting to be read. Not sure when I’ll get to it, but hopefully in the not too distant future. And I say partially meeting your goals is still a really good thing. It’s so hard to judge how long certain writing tasks will take and what kind of time you’ll have to work with in a week, so any progress is awesome really. I have to admit that word count goals totally mess with my head too. I don’t usually set goals. I just write whenever I get the chance and at whatever pace works that day, so this is all new to me. I did the opposite of you and switched to more task oriented goals for this week. Good luck with the writing!

    • Rae says:

      Thank you so much for the encouragement, Erin. Ready. Set. Write! has really been reminding me of how this process is different for everybody, and comments like yours are helping me so much!
      And I saw that we “switched” our goals…I’m loving the flexibility to do that! Good luck on your goals this week…I’m looking forward to seeing if I can manage the word-count thing. o.0

  9. Raven says:

    Partially DOES count. Actually, any progress counts as progress. So you’re on the right track! I hope you get some writing done this week. Also, I really want to read The Girl of Fire and Thorns so hopefully it’s good. My current wip is fantasy and so I’m trying to read the same genre to keep me in the mindset, if that makes sense.

    I’m glad your sister’s grad party went well and good luck with training! Eight hours is a very long time but it’s great that you’re taking lessons. 🙂

    • Rae says:

      My WIP is fantasy, too, so I’ve got a whole stack to keep me in the mood. I’ve never really tried reading the same genre while writing, so I’m hoping it’ll help rather than stifle my creativity. At least I’ll have some great books to read…I’m really looking forward to THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS!

  10. Alison Miller says:

    I LOVE TGOFAT! Great story and I must must must read the sequel soon – on the summer TBR for certain! Also, sounds like you’ve had a LOT of great stuff going on – good for you! And I am cheering you on in meeting your wc goals this week! Go YOU!

    • Rae says:

      So glad to hear TGOFAT is good (WHAT AN ACRONYM. I totally lost it reading that…so funny!), I’m really excited to read it.
      Thank you for the awesome cheerleading! Y’all are fantastic!

  11. I’m terrible at making word count goals because I’m constantly deleting when I write and I get mad when I end up with less words at the end of the writing session, even though I *know* I’ve made good progress.

    My family is always inspiring me, too!

    • Rae says:

      Ahh, that’s exactly what’s kept me from doing it before! But the encouragement from everybody has made this whole goal-setting thing way easier for me…I’m hoping that’ll carry over into the word-count goals. It’s way easier to meet that sort of goal if I’m not constantly berating myself. 😛

  12. Oooh I’m so excited for you to read THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS. So so so good! And partially definitely counts when it comes to writing goals. Any little bit gets you closer to The End, right? Good luck on this week’s goals!

    • Rae says:

      Even if it’s a very little bit? 😉 Thanks for the encouragement, Tracey! And yeah, I’ve heard so many amazing things about THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS…I’m wondering now why I haven’t read it sooner!

  13. katyupperman says:

    “Contemporary isn’t half bad!” <— Totally made me laugh! Contemporary is my FAVORITE! In fact, Sara Zarr is one of my go-to authors. 🙂 I've heard awesome things about TGoFaT… I'll have to look for it next time I hit the library. And great job with your goals… I think partially meeting them is great. Any progress is good progress! Best of luck with your goals this week!

    • Rae says:

      Lol, THE LUCY VARIATIONS was one of my few (VERY FEW) forays into that world! What other Sara Zarr books would you recommend? (or all of them?) I’m getting ready to read a lot of fantasy for my WIP, but I’d love some contemporary for when I need a break.
      And than you for the encouragement. I’m feeling way better about last week’s progress after all the amazing support from everybody. And that makes this next week look so exciting! 🙂

  14. Partially is better than not at all!

    I liked Defiance more before I started thinking about it – there were a few world building holes, I thought, but I still enjoyed it. The Girl of Fire and Thorns was amazing, though, and I can’t wait to get to the sequel in my library pile.

    Good luck with the writing this week!

    • Rae says:

      I’ve heard a lot more buzz for THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS than I have for DEFIANCE. I’m interested to see how the worldbuilding compares when reading them back-to-back. I tend to have a lot of really detailed worldbuilding that never quite makes it on the page (but needs to) when I write, so I’m looking for some good examples. Thanks for the encouragement!

  15. Liz Parker says:

    Training session to get a gun permit? You’re a badass.

    Good luck with your goals this week! I think it’s okay you didn’t meet them last week because at least you tried and are happy with the progress you did make.

    • Rae says:

      I’m really excited to do it…we’ll see how badass I feel afterwards. I may be quite terrible at it! 😛
      Thanks for the encouragement…it’s good to get the reminder of being satisfied with whatever progress I have. 🙂

  16. Ooh, gun training! I took a gun class as research for my book too, and it was shocking how WRONG movies/books/tv shows are about guns most of the time. It definitely helped me become a better writer in that sense!

    • Rae says:

      Wow, that’s good to know! I’ve always wondered how people write about it without experiencing it first-hand…I don’t “need” it for my current WIP, but I’m still looking forward to finding out what it’s like!

  17. I would love to learn how to shoot a gun. I don’t really want to own one, but I’m curious about the experience. Of course, I could call it “research” too since my most recently finished MS has a scene where the protag goes to a shooting range with his guardian and shoots a gun for the first time.

    • Rae says:

      Yeah, I’m not sure it’s worth it for me to own one yet, but I really want to know how to use one. This isn’t research for my current WIP, but there are several projects for which this’ll be handy. I’m really looking forward to the experience! 🙂

  18. Jessica Naccari says:

    I *love* reading during a good storm. It’s possibly one of my absolute favorite pastimes. 🙂 Good luck with your goals and don’t let them bog you down.

  19. vitlit says:

    Good luck with your word count goals!

  20. Jaime Morrow says:

    I really enjoyed THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS, but for whatever reason I haven’t read the sequel yet. I really should get on that! I think your goals for this week sound great. 500 words a day is a nice manageable number. Good luck meeting your goal! 🙂

  21. Wow! Eight hours of training sounds gruelling.
    Good luck with your writing goals!

Leave a Reply

