What’s Up Wednesday

Who’s ready for it to be Wednesday again? *gulp* Not me! But, Jaime’s blog says it is, and since WUW is the weekly meme hosted by her and Erin and they’re really nice and usually right…I guess I’m not allowed the change the weekdays just to accommodate my schedule, huh?

4a45a-buttonsmallnoborder

Yeah, believe it or not, another week has gone, and here we are on the third week of Ready. Set. Write! I’m still wondering how long I can use the excuse that I’m still “settling in” to this whole idea of goal setting. It feels like my excuse for being directionally challenged: “I just moved here.” Please don’t ask me how long ago.**  At least I’ve finally figured out where WalMart is.

What I’m Reading

I finished Defiance, but a review is still in the rough drafts. I was going to begin The Girl Of Fire And Thorns…but Siege And Storm came in at the library, and I sort of maybe sat out in the car reading it…and I can’t quit while I’m in the middle! I was surprised to see how many of you loved The Girl Of Fire And Thorns, so it’s still next on the list. Yay for a long holiday weekend!

What I’m Writing

Note to self: Word-counts-per-day are a great idea, but always include that overall goal. I missed anything until Sunday…but between Sunday and last night, I got in my 2500 words. Whew!  I’m still stuck refining and mangling this first half of the book out, since I’m finding myself running into the same traps as the original draft. Improving the characters and eliminating the extraneous ones is only half the problem. The 2500 counted towards some rescribblings of the opening scenes that are plaguing me, but even with a few ugly scenes cut in my edit-on-the-fly writing style…I’m finally over 5,000 words!  So different than my previous 1K-A-Day summers, but I think it’s because I’m thinking about this one so much more. Thinking about plot, about follow-through, about raising the stakes and wondering why on earth would the MC do that? The writing may be messier, but the plotting is getting far more detail than I’ve previously managed in a first draft.

3513d-readysetwritebutton

So, new goals? I liked 500 a day. While it didn’t work out perfectly, 2,500 words for my week was a manageable goal. And I’m going to stop stressing out about this first half of the story. I need to write some of my favorite scenes to remind myself of some of the pivotal character points and get excited about this. It always feels like cheating to jump so far down the timeline, but I’m well-armed with “adequate causality” in my defense.

What Inspires Me Right Now

Music, for one. Balmorhea? I’ve got “The Winter” on infinite loop right now, and when I get tired of chucking the scenes that aren’t working, I play me some “Lament”, have another cup of tea, and move to a spot of sunshine and keep writing.

Otherwise, I’m loving the enthusiasm of this community. Why are you all so wonderful? I’m also excited to see the YA Buccaneers, which looks like an amazingly fun venture. And the website is so pretty! I’ve seen hints of this on a number of blogs, and the reveal is very much living up to the hype. Keep it up, ladies!

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Frankly, I’m swamped. I usually have time to break up my workday with all of your lovely WUW posts and comments…but I’m pretty sure that that is not going to happen this week. I love what I do and where I work, but June just finished, and that means End-Of-Quarter/Half-Year reports for my company, and that means really long hours for me as Controller. If I got paid overtime, I’d be making enough money this week to buy me some serious something(s). I’m really looking forward to the extended weekend, but I may sleep through all of it to make up for the the two weeks’ worth of work that I’ve crammed into the first three days of this month. Except I’ve got family coming in to town, and they’ve planned a canoe trip on Saturday. So…sleep all the other days? Hope so.

What’s up on your Wednesday?

**almost five years.

20 comments on “What’s Up Wednesday

  1. Colin says:

    Heck, I’ve lived in this city for over 10 years and I still don’t know my way around that well! Along with a poor sense of direction, I just don’t get out much. I’m a home-bod, what can I say? 🙂

    I hope you find time for some R&R over the long weekend, Rae!

    • Rae says:

      10 years? Man, I don’t feel guilty at all anymore! I just figure that I only need to know about the important places. Church, post office, WalMart, library…yep, I’m good. 😉

  2. Miss Cole says:

    Hope you get a break soon!

    I quite enjoy weeding out the unnecessary characters. I file them away in case they fit another story later on.

    • Rae says:

      Thanks, Miss Cole! I’m realizing how much I tend to duplicate characters, so they usually get absorbed into one another instead. Otherwise it’d be fun to “recycle” them into something else!

  3. Erin L. Funk says:

    I enjoyed reading about your approach to this WIP. I much prefer to take my time with a story and think things through before plowing on ahead too. That’s why this whole goal setting thing has been a bit of a bizarre experience for me. I’m sure you’ll be so glad in the revision stage that you drafted so carefully. It’s kind of nice to savor the drafting stage too. Best of luck with next week’s goals and hope you find some time for extra sleep too!

    • Rae says:

      Thank you, Erin. Your reminder about savoring the drafting stage is really good. I get impatient to just start writing already, and the slowness can bog me down. But fulfilling goals has been such a good motivator! And thank you…I’m reeeallly hoping for that extra sleep. 🙂

  4. I am in the Defiance reading process now. I have read both Siege and Storm (LOVE SO MUCH) and Girl of Fire and Thorns (Also, love immensely, but live Crown of Embers more.) Great book choices. It sounds like you have realistic goals and perspective about your WIP, which is awesome! Good luck with everything.

    • Rae says:

      Wow, that’s so cool that you liked the second book more! I’m always so impressed when an author can avoid that second-book-slump. So far, SIEGE & STORM has been great. I forgot how engrossing Leigh’s worldbuilding is. And thanks for the writing encouragement!

  5. Krispy says:

    You ARE busy, but I think I know a little bit of that. It’s a Quarter End at my day job right now too, which makes my usually already busy beginning of months even crazier. So glad for the holiday (even if I don’t get Friday off – boo!), and I hope I can get some writing done.

    You should probably rest up though. You sound like you need it and plus, you’re still making great progress on your goals! 🙂

    • Rae says:

      Yup. Quarter End is this weird combination of love-the-work/hate-the-busyness. I know I’ll be glad to close the books on that one.
      And thanks for the encouragement! I actually managed to sleep a lot and get some good writing done. 🙂

  6. Alison Miller says:

    Sounds like you have a crazy week coming up! Hope you find time to relax. And write. 🙂 Also, I can’t do the daily wc thing – I always feel like a failure when I don’t get the count in and so I do overall goals only. But everyone has to find what works for them. So glad you’ve done that!

    I hope you have a wonderful week!

    • Rae says:

      Thanks, Alison! I’m realizing that the 500/day count is good to make sure I’m sitting down and writing, but the overall goal is still better for me to reach. I feel like I’m intentionally tricking myself into writing every day with the per-day goals that might not get met…but hey, it works. 🙂

  7. “eliminating the extraneous ones”

    That’s me when I revise! I always have so many characters in my first draft. Yesterday I was making a note in a WIP I plan to revise soon and I actually wrote something like: She seems extraneous

    LOL

    • Rae says:

      Haha–isn’t that a great description? I tend to notice that in movies, actually. You know, the neighbor who show up over the fence every once in a while but really has nothing to do with the story? LOL. Actually, doing character sketches is my favorite way of making sure that these people actually matter. It also helps because then I can make sure I don’t have three versions of the same character floating around under different aliases. 😛

  8. Jaime Morrow says:

    Your mention of THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS is reminding me that I still need to get to the sequel. I enjoyed the first one, so I need to get on that. It sounds like this draft you’re working on is coming along nicely. It’s great to see that extra detail in a draft. And congrats on meeting your word goal! Sometimes I wish I just set a weekly word count goal instead of doing a day-by-day thing. That way you can always pick up the slack another day. I might have to consider that if I run into problems with my current plan.

    Thanks for the YA Buccaneers shout-out! I’m so happy you like how it turned out. 🙂

    • Rae says:

      I like the day-by-day to make sure that I’m sitting down and making time to write. I think if I didn’t have that, then the weekly goal would be crammed into the last day or something. 😛

  9. I hope you have a great weekend and get some rest! As Jaime said, thanks for mentioning the Buccaneers – it’s going to be a fun adventure and we’re glad to have you along for the ride!

    I agree about the writing community – it’s really something special, isn’t it?

    • Rae says:

      Thank you, Sarah! I’m continually amazed by how supportive y’all are! Granted, it helps that there are so many exciting things to cheer for. 😀

  10. SEIGE AND STORM is awesome, right??? I blew through that one in so little time and loved it. I have yet to get to THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS, as well. One of these days!

    And way to crank out the words in the past few days! I know exactly what you mean by how you’ve written in the past and it just not being the same, right now. But you know – every day you get further along than you were before, so it’s still progress. Keep it up and you’ll be done before you know it! Best of luck in hitting your goals for this week, too – looking forward to seeing how you managed in next week’s WUW post!

    Also – thank you for the shout out to the YA Buccaneers! It has been a project that Bridgid and I have been toying with for a couple of years now and I’m so happy to finally see it come to fruition. I do hope you stop on by again, we’ve got some great things planned for the month!

    Hope you have a wonderful Friday / weekend!

    • Rae says:

      Thank you so much, Erin! I’m loving SIEGE AND STORM. Although I have to set aside good chunks of time to read it…you can’t just take a peek and not get sucked in!
      Thanks for the encouragement on the writing. I love being reminded of how every little bit is progress. Thank you!
      And I really am looking forward to what y’all have to share with the YA Buccaneers. I’ll definitely be checking back in! 🙂

Leave a Reply

