What Up, Wednesday?

4a45a-buttonsmallnoborder

Back with another What’s Up Wednesday, the fabulous meme that lets you check in on a few basics.

What I’m Reading

I love Siege And Storm…but believe it or not, I’m not done yet. Yeah, I had a holiday weekend, but family took precedence over everything else, and I didn’t read a thing. But, I’ve got a few books coming due at the library, so I’ve really got to get going.

What I’m Writing

I managed to sneak away for an hour on Thursday and Friday, and stuffed my entire week-long goal in: 2,500 words. And then I didn’t write.  Strange, to have everything stirring around and not writing it down, but I really enjoyed the satisfaction that came with meeting my goal, and it helped me put it aside and spend some much needed rest time with my family. We don’t get that very often anymore, and I love[d] every minute.

3513d-readysetwritebuttonThis week, everything is sort of off the charts, though. So I’m just going to try to dedicate half an hour every day to writing. No word counts, scene expectations, nothing. I never take very long to settle down to writing (usually because everything stews in my head all day so I’m ready/dying to write in the evenings), so I’m not worried about half an hour being too little to get into the story. But I want to try to schedule that time in order to make sure that I’m fitting it in. I’ve got some other deadlines to meet, and I just want to regain that writing-something-every-day consistency.

What Inspires Me Right Now

Do you ever get inspired by your own story? Your WIP? When I’m writing consistently, I start to reach that point where everything is connected to my WIP.  I see interactions between people and wonder how/if that would translate into my story. Food, family, friends, grudges, gifts, sunshine…with this story as my constant background, it’s easy to find inspiration in even the little things. And regardless of how slow the writing is, I’m finding myself getting excited over this again.

What Else I’m Up To

I need a new synonym for swamped/busy/in-over-my-head. 10 hours in the office every day, and it’s starting to wear. I love my job, but acquiring two people’s jobs in addition to my own at the end of a quarter and crammed into two weeks of training…whew. I’m really, really, really hoping that things will settle down. And that I won’t forget important things, like payroll and taxes and bills due.

And life in general is sort of hectic. Trying to plan a trip to fly out and see my sister. Trying not to think about huge August deadlines. Making decisions on commitments for this fall. Too much to do. o.0

So that’s my Wednesday! What’s yours like? Add it to the link on Jaime’s page!

26 comments on “What Up, Wednesday?

  1. Glad to hear you’re excited about your WIP and you get inspired by the things happening around you.
    It happens to me too, even though mine is a YA fantasy but I still look out for ways to make it a bit close to reality.

    Good luck with your project and it’s fun reading your updates!

    • Rae says:

      I love translating things that I see around me into the time period/world that I’m creating. And you’re right–there are ways to do that. It teaches me a lot about my world to figure out those emotional/psychological differences between what I see happen now vs. what would happen in my story.

  2. Rebekah says:

    I totally get what you say about your WIP inspiring you. Most of the time, it took great restraint NOT to write because I had other things that needed my attention. So happy you are in that place, good stuff. And please, try not to over exhaust yourself. Not good for anyone.

    • Rae says:

      Ack, the other stuff. The stuff that has to be done except I want to WRITE RIGHT NOW. 🙂 I sort of go a little crazy if I don’t get the chance to write what’s been stirring in my head all day.
      And yeah, I’m realizing now how much I love/need/must have my weekends. Whew.

  3. Yes, I’ve been inspired by my own writing. It normally happens when I put it aside for a while, then when I take it out to read over what I’ve done I’m pleasantly surprised 🙂

    • Rae says:

      Lol, I wish I could say that I’ve been pleasantly surprised by my source material, but the enthusiasm has taken a bit longer to arrive. I’m just hoping that getting to this stage will make the writing come easier. 🙂

  4. Alison Miller says:

    I love being inspired by own story. Currently I sing songs from Grease way too often and I couldn’t sleep last night because a future scene unfolded in my mind. Best writing place to be!

    And yes – writing consistently is SO important so I love that you have that as your goal. I was on vacation on and off for three weeks and my writing schedule suffered. So, I’m glad to be settling back into a routine.

    I hope you have a most productive week!

    • Rae says:

      😀 As long as my story-obsession doesn’t manifest itself in some crazy way, I think I’ll be okay. I remember one story I worked on that had me obsessively picking locks and watching exits. Pretty sure my family worried about me on that one! 🙂
      And thank you for the encouragement! Vacation is a mixed bag, isn’t it? Sometimes it means extra writing time, which I love, but usually it involves a total dissolution of my schedule, which I don’t love. I’m hoping to get back in a routine this week. 🙂

  5. kate scott says:

    I love that you’re getting inspired by your own WIP, it’s always great when that happens. Sometimes when I’m in hard core drafting mode and I don’t want to do anything but write, but I have a whole other life constantly pulling me away, I’ll pretend to be one of my characters and imagine all the things happening to me are happening to them. That way when I do get back to writing, I know my character that much better.

    • Rae says:

      As schizophrenic as that embodiment makes me feel, I do the same thing to get to know my character. It feels a lot like being an actor, and I sometimes have to pull back, but it provides so much inspiration for my [unfortunately short] writing time. That’s why I can never handle two WIPs at the same time…I’d go crazy! 🙂

  6. Miss Cole says:

    Although I don’t work in an office, I do work 10 hour days. I feel your stress! Hang in there and I hope you manage a trip to your sister 🙂

    Congratulations on hitting your goals too! Best of luck next week.

    • Rae says:

      I’ve done the long babysitting hours, and I don’t envy your job! I feel like I shouldn’t complain, because it’s an office job and I love it, but it’s more the stress of being trained in such a short time to do so much…I’m just hoping I don’t screw everything up. 😛
      And I’m just a few confirmations away from getting plane tickets to go see my sister. Whew. Thanks for the encouragement!

  7. I hope things calm down for you at work. It has been a crazy month for me, too, and I keep hoping things will change. I think your goal for this week is very realistic and a good one. You can do it! 🙂

    • Rae says:

      Thanks, Liz! So far, so good…writing is such a great de-stressor for me, so setting aside that time is helping everything right now. 🙂

  8. Erin L. Funk says:

    I like your approach to your writing goals this week, Just making sure you fit in that time is a great way to go about it when things get really busy. Hope work and everything else won’t stress you out too much! 🙂

    • Rae says:

      Thanks for the encouragement, Erin! I was sort of afraid of disappointing myself by not meeting word-count goals this week, so I decided to try this. I like the routine, and it’s a great focus-builder for me to set aside that chunk of time. The disappointing part now is when I’m really on a roll and have to stop writing because my time is up and there are too many other things to do. 😛 I may try to lengthen the time next week! 🙂

  9. Wow. That does sound like a crazy month. Your writing goals sound perfect to fit in with the rest of the stress. There’s no reason to over do things 😉
    Glad to hear your MS inspires you. That’s the best place to be. Hope this next week leaves you a minute or two to breathe!

    • Rae says:

      I’m so glad to be excited about this WIP again! I’ve been hoping to find that inspiration again, and with everything else going on, I’ve really needed it. Writing really is my breathing time, so I get to be inspired and settle down at the same time. 🙂

  10. Colin says:

    All the best with scheduling writing time every day, Rae. It can be hard, especially when you’re so busy, but you’ll not regret it. And I totally relate to being inspired by your own writing. It’s true that when you’re on a roll, the story can consume your thoughts, and when you like what you’ve written, it encourages you to carry on.

    I hope you have a good week, and the work schedule becomes more reasonable for you. 🙂

    • Rae says:

      Thank you, Colin. It’s hard for me to find that place where I’m actually happy with what I’m writing, but getting there always helps me, especially when I need to turn off that editor and let it be a first draft.
      And yeah, I’m hoping the work schedules irons out, too. Not happening yet, but I’m still hoping. 🙂

  11. kiperoo says:

    Congrats on meeting your word count in the wee bit of time you had! That is awesome. A schedule is awesome to have, but better to fit in what you can when you can than nothing at all, yanno? I hope your work situation calms down soon so you can get some of your writing life back!

    • Rae says:

      I love that phrase: “writing life.” It’s such a huge part of me, I hate the idea of cramming it into such little time. But it helps when I love my story again. 🙂

  12. Krispy says:

    I love that feeling of being excited over your own story! I think the scheduling in time to write is a great idea and good way of forming the habit. I should probably do that. 😛

    Glad to hear you got to spend time with your family AND make your word goal. Real Life and Writing Life balance for the win! Though it does sound like things are just going to get busier for you (me too in the coming weeks)! Good luck with it all!

    • Rae says:

      Aack, that balance between writing life/real life is SO HARD. But they’re both so important to me. I’m hoping that it doesn’t get any busier, because then both of my lives are going to suffer. 😛 Being busy can be so wearing…I hope your week goes well!

  13. Whew, sounds like you’ll be crazy, busy for awhile!

    I love that smug feeling I sometimes get from writing, even more so when I do something unintentially and I think, “Oohh, I’m deep. This is SOOO good!” LOL

    I think I need to go back to just writing every day, like I used to – I’m not doing too well making count-type goals.

    • Rae says:

      LOL, I try not to gush over my writing too badly, but there are times when I find myself patting myself on the back. 🙂 That smug feeling is the best…but if I’m ever afraid of getting an overinflated ego, I know all I have to do is pull out some of those terrible first drafts again. o.0
      And I hope you get your goals worked out. I’ve experimented with mine, and so far this week has gone well. The dedicated time is great, but I miss the satisfaction of reaching a word-count goal. Sigh. At least I’m writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

