What’s Up, Wednesday?

I think I’m in denial. Is it the middle of July ALREADY??? Time for another What’s Up Wednesday, hosted by Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk!

What I’m Reading 4a45a-buttonsmallnoborder

I finally finished Siege & Storm, which left me in a puddle of feels and completely incapable of reading anything else. I love Leigh Bardugo’s world, and I wanted a bit of time to digest it before I started on The Girl Of Fire And Thorns. But, I’ve got a library deadline breathing down my neck, so I have to have it read by next Wednesday. Y’all’s comments have convinced me that it’s going to be fantastic, so I’ve got the sequel on hold at the library.

What I’m Writing

I had half-an-hour-a-day as my writing goal last week, which was sort-of-but-not-quite a success. It meant that I was constantly thinking about my WIP, plotting it out during the day in prep for my writing time in the evening, but there were a number of days that I didn’t get to sit down and write. The constant brewing was SO MUCH FUN, and gave me some strange and fantastical ideas for it, but the actually writing only came out to around 2K, again crammed into only a few days (2, I think?) of actual writing. But, I liked the mentality it gave me. There was more of an urgency when I wrote, because of my time limits, and my writing time was more thought out and 3513d-readysetwritebuttonintentional because I had planned throughout the day to make the most of that time. So I’m going to try for it again this week, and see if I can get in front of that computer a few more days: half an hour at a time.

What Inspires Me Right Now

Music, most definitely.  It does NOT really fit the timeline of my WIP, but I’ve been looping Ian Franzino’s “Holding On” and “Something Inside” for some of my scenes, and the energy of the songs has really translated well into my writing. I feel like I should be listening to something orchestral and/or exotic, but I can’t give up my dubstep love!

Otherwise, I’d like to say thank you for the comments on the snippet I posted last week. One of my favorite parts of Ready. Set. Write! has been reading (and enjoying!) the excerpts from y’all, and it definitely helped me post a tiny bit of my own. Thank you!!

What Else I’m Up To

Every August, some other debate alumni and I run a 3-day debate workshop that kicks off the school year/debate season for Midwest-area debaters, the majority of which are involved in my old debate club. It’ll be my fifth year in leadership, and while I absolutely LOVE teaching and writing the curriculum, I HATE our topic this year. It changes every year, and this year it’s federal election policy. One of my roles is giving the students an overview of the topic, which involves massive amounts of reading. Hate to say it, but federal election law isn’t that exciting, and while I should be used to/okay with reading Supreme Court decisions and the minutiae of congressional bills…I’m dragging my feet. I put a countdown on my phone to remind me of the quickly-dwindling days, but I’m not really motivated yet.  2-3 hours of my day are dedicated to prep, which is why my writing time is so limited, making all this work seem infinitely less fun. I’d rather be writing! Right now, my mantra is something along the lines of “just keep swimming, just keep swimming…” Very motivational! 🙂

What’s Up on your Wednesday?

To learn more about this fantastic bloghop, head on over to Jaime Morrow’s blog to find out more or see the other links!

14 comments on “What’s Up, Wednesday?

  1. Miss Cole says:

    I love it when the need to write is so urgent when I do finally give in the words rush out and it’s all so exciting! Yay!

    Good luck sorting out the work shop!

    (ohmigosh, it IS the middle of July. I’m going to join you in denial)

  2. kate scott says:

    It’s always fun when finding time to write is the need not finding words to write when you have the time. Here’s hoping the inspiration doesn’t stop.

  3. Alison Miller says:

    Yeah – I’m with you. Federal election law does not sound one bit fun. But it sounds like you’re doing a great thing with your old debate club, so go you! Also, I think I do better when I have smaller increments of time to write – there is something about that sense of urgency that inspires.

    Good luck with your writing this week! And enjoy TGOFAT!!! Loved that story!

    • Rae says:

      The urgency is really good for me, but it’s such a disappointment when I get on a roll and have to stop because of I’m out of time. I end up leaving these random, ridiculous notes in my MS, trying to tell myself where I left off and what I had planned. 🙂
      And thanks for the encouragement! The debate stuff is still boring, but if I focus on the enjoyment of teaching and working with my old students, it gets a lot easier.

  4. Colin says:

    I think one of the things that really helped me write over 70K in a month (i.e., write my first draft during NaNoWriMo) was the fact that every day at work I thought about the story, the characters, where the plot was going, things that needed to happen… and I imagined scenarios, chopped scenes, and tried to make sense of the mess that is this mad idea for a story. When I got home and actually sat down to write, I was ready to go. The words flowed because they had been in my head all day.

    So, time thinking is not time wasted!

    I hope you have a great writing week, Rae! 🙂

    • Rae says:

      Yes! My office job usually (used to) allows me moments to scribble things down, and some days I get to take a whole mountain of sticky notes home for my writing time. Now that I’m well into the story, everything reminds me of it, so regardless of how occupied or busy I am at the moment, I’m still story-plotting. And I just have to remind myself of how important that is to my “actual” writing time. Not wasted. 🙂 Thank you!

  5. Erin L. Funk says:

    I love constant story brewing! That’s my favourite part of the process. It’s a really good excuse to just sit and imagine! I enjoyed the music, by the way! I listen stuff like Cryptex and The Glitch Mob when I write (not technically dubstep, but don’t ask me to explain the difference, too confusing) and I agree that the high energy of the songs really fuels the story. Best of luck on your goals this week!

    • Rae says:

      When I first started writing this MS, I kept looking for something orchestral–a song that fit the story. Now I’m really going for ones that fit the mood I need to be in, and it’s a blast! It feels slightly dichotomic to be listening to futuristic stuff and writing “old world”, but it keeps me going. 🙂
      I’ve heard of those groups, but haven’t listened to their music. i’ll have to look them up!

  6. katharineowens says:

    As someone who teaches American Government I feel for you on that federal election policy. Ug. I wish I could give you some awesome resource to use… but, alas. When I talk about elections my favorite topics are gerrymandering (and all the manipulations that go along with that) and voter registration rules. Ok- enough political science. :0) How great that you’re able to mentor these debate students. Very cool! Good luck with your writing goals this week!

    • Rae says:

      Isn’t gerrymandering the coolest word? Lol, I love that one. There’s a lot about the voting/voters/candidacy process that I didn’t realize, but so much of it feels trivial. But I need to find a way to love it, otherwise I’m going to be a terrible teacher. 😛 If I can’t stay interested, my students won’t be, either!

  7. Alexa says:

    I love thinking about my story too, it’s constantly brewing in the back if my mind and I have been known to suddenly burst out “yes! That’s perfect,” especially in car journeys 🙂 I hope you get done more writing time this week to get all your ideas down 🙂

    Good Luck with your debate prep too, it sounds hard!

  8. Federal election law makes me want to yawn, although maybe there’s some interesting stuff? I mean, the VRA was just killed, so that could be interesting to look at, if it works with your topic.

    Good luck finding time to write!

Leave a Reply

