What’s Up Wednesday?

Back around again for another week of Jaime Morrow and Erin L. Funk‘s wonderful bloghop!

What I’m Reading 4a45a-buttonsmallnoborder

Well…The Girl Of Fire And Thorns was due back at the library yesterday, but I’m going to suck it up and pay the fines on it until I finish. No way am I sending this one back unfinished. I LOVE this book! I’m less than halfway through, but it has been nothing but stellar. I can’t remember the last time I liked a main character this well!

What I’m Writing

Believe it or not, I almost skipped the bloghop this week. Because…I didn’t write a thing. Not a word. I didn’t jot down an outline, rattle off a scene, nada. I didn’t even get a chance to open the document. Sigh. This was not my best week.

3513d-readysetwritebuttonI don’t think it was the fault of my goals, though. I still want to train myself into writing each day, but I can’t commit more time than that half-an-hour chunk. This week it got stolen by [What Else I’ve Been Up To], but I’m going to try again. Half an hour a day. Every day.

What Inspires Me

Last week I didn’t manage to comment very much, but I still read every single post. If nothing else, the enthusiasm is encouraging. There’s nothing quite like hanging around people who are passionate about what they love to do. Thank you, fellow writers!

What Else I’ve Been Up To

Friday through Sunday got stolen by an impromptu trip back to my hometown. My track record with traveling is terrible; I got caught in very heavy rain driving out and back, and Sunday’s bout involved hail. I haven’t had a trip back this year that didn’t involve bad weather of some sort! Other than that, I got some much-needed sleep, and a lot of planning and prep done for the debate workshop I’m teaching there in August. Plus, my sis and I managed to sneak in time to see Red 2, which I loved even more than the first one. I’m a sucker for action movies, and it’s always fun to see retirees kicking butt.

Otherwise, my writing evenings were individually usurped by my mom’s birthday, three hours of volleyball, a children’s program at church, time with my grandparents, and being engrossed by The Girl Of Fire And Thorns. But, I’m starting to handle my work schedule and only pulled one 10-hr day last week. Yes! Being home earlier will help with the life-is-crazy thing, I think. 🙂

What’s Up on your Wednesday? Check out Jaime’s blog to join in! 

16 comments on “What’s Up Wednesday?

  1. I almost didn’t post last week either – for several reasons. This time of year does get busy, but it’s just important (if not more so) to live than to write. That’s where the inspirations come from 🙂

  2. A good book might be the best excuse for lack of writing 🙂 At least I think so. I’ve caught up on a lot of reading this summer and have written a little less, and I’m OK with it.

    • Rae says:

      I’ve been able to read so much this summer…and while it’s been cutting down on my writing time, it has been so much fun to bury myself in books again! I agree: it’s a fabulous excuse. 🙂

  3. kate scott says:

    Try not to feel to bad about not writing. I go for long stretches of time without writing all the time. I think actually living life is an important part of the writing process, so you can tell yourself you were doing research or ruminating or something if it makes you feel better. 🙂

    • Rae says:

      I will tell myself that, thank you! 🙂 I just hate the feeling of *not* writing, especially when I’ve already planned on writing and don’t get to do it after all. 😛

  4. Miss Cole says:

    I keep forgetting there’s a sequel to Red. I loved that film. It was really unexpectedly fantastic. I’ll have to try and find the time to see the new one 🙂

    Sometimes life takes over and writing has to wait. No worries.

    Have an awesome week!

    • Rae says:

      I think the sequel was quite possibly better. Maybe a little more comic-book-ish? But not in a bad way. 🙂
      Thank you for the encouragement!

  5. Colin says:

    Mmmm… I might have to check out GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS. Thanks for the tip. 🙂 And I hate driving in bad weather. The worst is heavy rain at night. I’m glad you made it there and back safely, Rae.

    I hope you have a productive writing week. 🙂

    • Rae says:

      THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS really is fantastic. Really strong characters, but flawed ones, too.
      And thanks, I’m glad to be back safely. I love travelling, but I seem to hit bad weather every single time. o.0
      And yes, this week has been slightly more productive. 😀

  6. Erin L. Funk says:

    I love that you’re being a library rebel lol! I’ve kept a few books past the due date recently too and just shelled out for the late fees. Glad I’m not the only one who does that once in a while!

    I’m so excited that you enjoyed Red 2 even better than the first movie! My husband and I loved the first one and the trailer for the second looks hilarious. Now, I’m looking forward to it even more.

    It sounds like you’ve been very busy lately. I can see why you’re finding it tough to fit in writing time. Hang in there, and I hope you can squeeze in some good writing soon, even just for fun instead of goals or anything like that! 🙂

    • Rae says:

      I feel so guilty bringing books in late, but it’s worse when I have to turn the books back in without being read! *cringe*
      Oh, I hope you get a chance to see Red 2! I loved it, and it was funnier than I remembered. It might have been the theater I was at, but I can’t remember the last time an audience openly laughed at the funny parts like they did when I was there. So much fun!
      Wow…your comment is really making me think. Every time I sit down to write, I’m trying to dive into my WIP as quickly as possible. Writing for fun sounds like a really good break, actually…I’m going to keep that in mind. Thank you!

  7. I love your writing a half hour every day goal. That is a nice minimum I can reach for. I tend to be a bit of a binge writer, which I am conflicted about. I’d love to be more consistent and reaching for just thirty minutes each day doesn’t feel like it is totally out of the realm of possibility for me!

    • Rae says:

      If I do word-count goals, I really turn into a binge writer. Conflicted is exactly the way I’d describe it. 🙂 It’s great for my word counts, but I think I’d rather be consistent. Otherwise it’s too easy to never get time in and not write at all. 😦

  8. Krispy says:

    Don’t feel bad! Not only did I NOT post last week, I didn’t write either! In my defense, I was packing and driving to San Diego. Sometimes Real Life just gets in the way. 🙂

    Sorry about the bad weather, but glad you go to sneak in a movie & that you liked it! The concept of the RED movies always seemed fun. Also, I feel ya on the library fees. I’ve definitely suffered overdue fees just to finish a really great book!

    In any case, I’ve got my first SDCC recap post up if you’re interested! Here: http://a-nudge.blogspot.com/2013/07/randomosity-on-fridays-comic-con-edition.html

    • Rae says:

      I won’t feel bad, although my excuse for not writing is infinitely less interesting than yours. I’m still drooling over your pictures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

