Going Dark

There’s something about maintaining a blog that is very freeing to me. I love the freedom to write about anything, to gush about writing, to fangirl about things, and to give and receive support from fellow writers. You all are the best.

But there’s something about a blog that is also quite deceptive. It’s easy to feel like your “internet life” doesn’t have any overlap with your “real life”. It’s quite possible to form opinions and make comments and share stories that are at complete odds with your “real life”. You might be having a sucky day, but you’re cheerfully commenting on someone else’s status. On the flip side of things, you want to be real, but you don’t want to overwhelm someone with your “real life”.  There’s a disconnect and a balance that walk hand-in-hand.

I think that’s one of the things that I’ve enjoyed so much about Jaime Morrow and Erin Funk‘s ‘What’s Up Wednesday‘ posts. There’s a good balance of finding the positive, sharing the real, gushing about the hobbies, and challenging each other. I’ve enjoyed every minute – thank you!

But, especially within the last week, my “real life” has been creeping up on me. Okay, so maybe shouting and waving red flags. There’s been the usual busyness, but sometimes things sort of jump out and grab you by the ankles and freak you out.  At some point, you have to stop and take the time to get things sorted. And quite frankly, doing that right now is going to involve letting this blog “go dark”,  Too many small emergencies left unattended can become one giant catastrophe, and right now, circumstances are handing me about six giant catastrophes. A few are personal, a lot involve other people, and one specifically needs constant focus and, as a side effect, almost zero “internet life” communication.

So, for now, this is me saying adieu. I’ve updated my Feedly, so I can try/still would be able to stalk y’all from afar. Maybe, even after this long and winded spiel, I’m still in denial about the limited opportunities I’m going to have to actually do that,

I don’t know if I’ll still be able to hop on and comment, or how soon I’ll be back to actively participate in this blog and get to be a part of this community again. Until then, thank you for everything, and I’ll still be cheering you on.

2 comments on “Going Dark

  1. Colin says:

    Awww… *sniff* 😦 I understand, though, Rae. I hope you don’t drop out completely, and you are able to return to the blog when you can. In the meantime, I pray you’re able to sort out everything that needs to be sorted out, and the potential catastrophes show themselves to be blessings in disguise.

    All the best to you, my friend. 🙂

  2. Alexa says:

    I hope you get everything under control. I’m sending good thoughts your way and I hope we see you back here when things get more manageable.

    Take care.

Leave a Reply

