Letters From An MBI Student – 8/20

Dear Family,

I arrived! But you know that. You know that because you stared at all the stuff I loaded in the van and asked me if I’d told my roommate that I was bringing so much. You also stared when we found out that we needed to take two cars. Yes, Mom, I know I can come back and pick up things I’ve forgotten, but I want to pretend that I don’t have that option. This is a grand adventure and I don’t need my family anymore, remember?

Although, while I’m writing, I should make sure to thank you for all that help. I forgot how much I hate putting sheets on a bunkbed. Thank you for not laughing when I banged my head on the light. Or the door. Or the dresser. You’ll be pleased to know that I only did it twice this morning. Progress, Mom.

Thanks for the food, too. I don’t even care that not giving me any chocolate was your way of making sure I come home to visit. I put the food on my bookshelf, because who needs books? I made coffee this morning, too. It was a little bitter, but maybe that’s because it was before 7 A.M. and my brain wasn’t ready read the directions. When the directions say “two scoops”, it’s not a big deal that I did a “rounded scoops”, is it? I also may have forgotten to count.

The campus is tiny, but there aren’t many people, so that’s cool. I’m off for my freshman orientation class so I can meet everyone else who I hope is as terrified as I am. Actually, I’m not sure if I hope that. Is it better to meet someone like you to make you feel better, or meet someone more confident who can…possibly make you feel very, very foolish. Never mind, I don’t think I want to meet anyone.

Except I’ve had a whole pot of astonishingly strong coffee and I am definitely not falling asleep. Wish me luck. I think I’ll come home next weekend to get that chocolate.

Maybe missing you,

~Rae

Leave a Reply

