Letters From An MBI Student – 8/23

Dear Family,

I survived Chorale Retreat! There was no “Kumbaya”, but we did have a campfire, so I was halfway right. I’m not sure how much I’m allowed to say about the retreat, because some of it is…secret? Sacred? Special? I can’t say much, so here are only a few things:

  1. Those people are seriously weird. Ask me about baby food in five years when I can’t get kicked out of Chorale for telling you.
  2. They’re crazy good singers. Except when they’re not? They can go way off pitch sometimes, but they’re super enthusiastic about it, so it sort of makes up for it.
  3. They really care about the newbies. Like me. Which I initially chalked up to weirdness but really need to attribute to Christ. It’s cool.

So that’s all I can say about Chorale. My lips are sealed, except when I’m singing and gasping for air.

On our way back I got to see Lakeshore Drive for the first time. It’s a little less spectacular when seen from a school bus when you really, really, really need to pee, but it was pretty, I think. I’m really not sure; I think the only thing I cared about at that point was how often we braked or went over a bump in the road.

Tonight is “Vespers.” Before you ask, I have no clue what it is. All I know is that I’ll see those crazy Chorale people again, and I think that’s going to be okay. They may be strange, but isn’t that what they call all Christians? We’re too strange for this world (I’m paraphrasing).

Hope you still love me even when I get weirder, because I think this Chorale thing is contagious. You’ll have to let me know when I see you again.

Maybe missing you,

~Rae

Leave a Reply

